An agnostic view on The Ten(Twelve) Commandments

This post is a re-edit of one I wrote years ago for my other blog.  As would be obvious to any of my readers who have hung about for a while, I’m a religious agnostic who is intensely curious about others religion and welcome an open discussion of same with anyone who cares to have it.  Unlike many who claim the moniker of agnostic or atheist, I’m respectful (hopefully) and appreciate the views of others.  In this spirit, I’m putting this post up to prompt my Christian friend Grant Dawson to begin the project we’d agree upon that pits us both head-to-head in a discussion of modern Christian faith.  Help me in motivating him by visiting his blog.  He has a lot of great posts but he has one in particular that I consider his writing “hook”.  Read that, follow his blog and let’s get this party started.

Firstly, it should be noted that while the Christian faith is keen to claim the Ten Commandments as their own invention, the concepts embodied in those rules predate Christ by tens of thousands of years.  The Christians are certainly the best known codifiers of these somewhat obvious laws of behavior but by no means did they invent them.  Just for grins though, let’s look at each one in detail.

#1:  I am the Lord your God

This one is rather obvious.  In order to have a religion of any merit whatsoever, you have to have a cohesive leadership.  It also establishes the speaker as GOD and lends weight and influence to the other commandments.  It’s a good start, though somewhat predictable.

#2: You shall have no other gods before me

Somewhat redundant with #1 really and undermining of the speaker’s position.  It seems to admit to the existence of other gods and attempts to subordinate them.  A real king of kings doesn’t need to do this.  He stands on the mountain and says, “I AM KING, tough cookies”.  This commandment seems like a throw away.  The speaker’s position would be stronger without it.  If you must say something, say I am the ONLY God or depending on your position on the trinity question, say that you’re God, father of Jesus and the Holy Spirit.   Either way, this one doesn’t work.

#3: You shall not make for yourself an idol

Alright, this one bugs me.  As I would understand this, the speaker is forbidding his followers from creating anything which constitutes a stand-in for him.  In other words, you can’t make a physical representation of God and worship that instead.  You must worship the unembodied idea of  god but you can’t construct a golden cow or anything else in an attempt to give him a material representation on this earth.  If that’s the case, then isn’t the cross itself a violation of this?  Isn’t this a physical representation of the holiness of god that is treated with veneration?  Similarly, what about graven images?  I see a lot of portrayals of Jesus in churches.  This seems like a violation of that commandment.  Even worse, I’ve seen people dressed up as Jesus for various reenactments and that seems like it would violate the spirit of the commandment entirely.  I’d be interested to have someone explain this one to me.  As commandments go though, not a bad one.

#4: You shall not make wrongful use of the name of your God

This is your basic, don’t take the Lord’s name in vain or use it to sell vegetable choppers on late-night television.  I get this.  If you’re the boss you don’t want people sullying your good name.  Does strike me as a tad vain, however.

#5: Remember the Sabbath and keep it holy

Well, this is certainly open for interpretation.  Personally, I like the Jewish interpretation of this commandment.  Jews can’t even turn on a light switch during the Sabbath because it would be considered ‘starting a fire’.  I really respect that because they go to a LOT of trouble to keep this.  I can’t help but admire anyone who goes to a lot of trouble to obey such a rule.  I like the Jewish faith.  From a commandment perspective though, this says, “dedicate a day to me and me alone.”  Not a bad idea, especially if that day is also a day of leisure.

#6: Honor your father and mother

This one isn’t all surprising considering that the promulgation of religion primarily from parent to child.  Even if it wasn’t in the Bible per se, I suspect an enterprising parent would add this commandment themselves just to keep the young people in line.  It’s also worth noting that this commandment represents a transition from the previous ones which were designed to establish the authority of God and those which are intended to confer a competitive advantage to the adherents of the religion.  From an evolutionary standpoint, this has a lot to be said for it.  Previous generations are invaluable to the child-rearing process.  It would be a distinct evolutionary advantage to foster those relationships.  Say what you will about the Bible, it has a fairly good grounding in simple practicality.

#7: You shall not murder

Continuing in the vein of practicality, we have the prohibition on murder.  I can almost hear a primitive man, millions of years ago talking to a friend around a roaring fire: “You know Both, me no like Gorth.  Me want kill Gorth but if kill Gorth, Gorth no hunt, no bring food.  Me think not good kill Gorth.”  And thus was this commandment was born.  The simple fact is that we all do better when we get along and don’t slaughter each other.  Again, simple practicality.

#8: You shall not commit adultery

This one is actually an oddball in that in strictly biological terms, it works AGAINST the group.  Promiscuity is actually a POSITIVE trait from an evolutionary perspective.  Males and females of the species are likely to bear more healthy offspring if they have several sexual partners.  The only problem, of course, is that possessive males, when they find their brides violated, tend to violate the previous commandment.

#9: You shall not steal

Similar to murder and adultery, there’s an advantage to cooperating and not filching each other’s stuff.  Adultery is actually a subset of the concept of theft in this case and it’s simple good sense to get along, keep your hands off other people’s stuff and not subject yourself to the potential for murder.

#10: You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor

As with #9, we have to just find some way to get along.  More than that though, we have to be honest with each other.  Of all the commandments, this one is probably the deepest and most meaningful for me.  It’s a lot of wasted energy to be anything BUT truthful so the optimal and most efficient state is to just start out that way.  When we’re all straight up with each other, we all benefit.

#11: You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife

#12: You shall not covet anything that belongs to your neighbor

These two are merely subsets of one another, recognized as separate, according to Wikipedia anyway, only by the Catholic faith.  This seems to simply say that you must not even CONTEMPLATE breaking commandment #9.  If you covet, that will inevitably lead to theft.  So the origin of this falls directly in line with the idea that we have to get along and not get ourselves murdered.

Looking back over the list in general, it’s really somewhat disappointing.  Everything that God has to say to us in these 10(12) snippets of wisdom is obvious to any school child.  There are variations to these (cannibalistic, polygamist tribes) rules but in general all societies that live in groups adhere to these laws quite naturally.  Sure there’s an occasional primitive tribe that shares wives between all the males but in general they don’t go around killing each other for no reason.  The rules are basic common sense even to the most unrefined.

The fatuousness of these rules makes me question the very motives of any God who would hand them out.  Why proclaim with such formality something which is so obvious?  Is this is the best that God can do with all the forces of omniscience on his side?  How about some rules about which berries to eat and which are poisonous?  Something we can use but not pick up on any street corner?  Further, why is God so insecure that he spends nearly half of the commandments trying to solidify his own position?  If I’m God, omnipotent and omnipresent, I might spare one commandment to say, “Look, I’m watching you.  I see everything so don’t even THINK about breaking my commandments” but *5*?!  To me this indicates a certain level of narcissism on god’s part.  He spends half the time talking about himself and only after he’s done telling you why he’s the only god you’ll ever need does he get down to the business of telling you anything useful.  Frankly, it’s a disappointment.

If anything, I’d say this is just more evidence that god, if he existed, had nothing to do with the commandments at all.  A real god wouldn’t bother.  He’d tell us something useful rather than spouting obvious truths.  If this is God’s best work, then I’m sadly disappointed.  Of all the things to be promulgated among the mass of humanity, this is a poor effort.  Perhaps he’ll do better at the second coming.  Not that anyone would care at that point, of course.

Now that you’ve suffered through that, read Grant’s response from the Christian perspective.

26 Comments

Filed under history, personal, religion

26 responses to “An agnostic view on The Ten(Twelve) Commandments

  1. The content looks good, but I couldn’t read the whole post because I found it too tiring on my eyes. Perhaps you’ve had comments on the white letters on black background before… and likely others have thought it but not commented. (Sorry to be so boring!) Thanks Rob!

  2. Debbie

    You have a very creative and beautiful blog. Your header photo for Photography (This Blog) is particularly breathtaking, with the light shining through the petals of a lily.

    Thanks for visiting Shadows of Love. Our creative minds and the expression of convictions should provide ample opportunity for both of us to visit often. I hope so.

  3. Ok, I came here because you came to my post and liked it. So now I’ve read three of yours, and liked your style (I guess I should have clicked the like buttons :/
    Anyway, after reading this, I’m going to have to invite you back to my blog to read my response to this post. Your points are valid, if taken strictly from a passing glance at the short version of the Ten commandments. I just want you to remember that there was a whole lot more going on at the time, and the children of Israel were partying hardy when Moses got back down the mountain with the First set of plates, which promptly got smashed to smithereens and then he went back up the mountain and got the lower law, because the people were so stiff necked (hard hearted skin flints). And then they Did get a whole lot of rules, Have you read (Leviticus and Deuteronomy?) which were all about practical living because these guys had No common sense, let alone common decency. And Then, God let all the old generation die off, before he would let them get to
    the promised land. Whew!!!….. Enough on here already :) Check this post out ( below), and then watch out for another one.

    http://emariaenterprises.wordpress.com/2011/12/13/thats-worth-a-10k-bet/

  4. I wish I had more energy to comment on this! I read your post and that of your friend; great dialogue there.

    One thing: I sense that an underlying question/thought in all this is, “Where does morality come from?” I would say that similarities between cultures are found because there is…an echo, if you will; the untainted part of us that is drawn to live by God’s design. (I’m of the “stained by sin” camp, not the “totally depraved.”)

    Looking forward to seeing how this conversation progresses.

  5. The Ten Commandments were either God inspired or people inspired. If they were given by God, then that particular one, was indeed childish, petulant and jealous. If, on the other hand, this was inscribed by people who wanted to codify civilized behaviour, then the use of God is simply to create an aura of fear and awe. Some sort of a motivation to behave.

  6. I find your opinion interesting, I am a Christian, yet I do understand where you are coming from. The one comment I must make is regarding #3. The Idols. The Israelites, had just made a golden calf to worship so they needed to have direction. Worshiping a calf is pointless. As far as Christians wearing a cross… I do not know any Christians who worship their cross. They wear is aas a symbol, a reminder, but not as an idol to be worshipped.

  7. Pingback: No Greater Love « emariaenterprises

  8. Fabulous post. I’ve given up calling myself a Christian because of all the institutional baggage that’s been created around that moniker. I prefer to think of myself as a follower of The Way which has more Buddhist philosophical connotations than the other. One reason, and your last paragraph pointed this out, is that God had little to do with the 10 Commandments. There is a reason why scholars and historians call this the Mosaic Law – because it was written by Moses. He was inspired by God but the fact remains that he’s the one that documented these commandments and expounded on them throughout later books in the Pentateuch creating punishments and exclusions for those who didn’t comply.

    What most Christians today fail to understand is the true meaning and purpose of what Jesus was trying to do in the first place. He was the ultimate revolutionary because he said his way was an END of the old Mosaic law. So while there may be some practical function for the 10 commandments Jesus was basically saying, “hey wake up, there’s more to life than this. Don’t be trapped by this old law. Go the ‘extra mile’ for those who really hate you. Be tolerant and accepting of others who may disagree with you and may even want to harm you. Show kindness to others regardless of their position or beliefs….” and I could go on. But like other things that man has institutionalized all this has been lost. Unfortunately, religious institutions, like every other institution exist for the sole purpose of maintaining and justifying their existence.

    I still believe that what Christ taught is beneficial and worthwhile and I try to live my daily life by what he taught. It isn’t easy at times because of all the cultural baggage I’ve grown up with but I am working on it. I know that I’ve found truth in unexpected places (like this blog) and do not believe truth resides within just one religion. So thanks for sharing. Sorry if I rambled on but I did find your post inspiring.

  9. Matt Ortman

    I think that emaria…. hit the nail on the head for a lot of these. You have to realize how many groups were NOT following these “obvious” rules. Some groups were practicing human sacrifice, many were practicing adultery, etc. This was written thousands and thousands of years ago. And I don’t think that most people back then would realize that Gorth was integral to their culture; they would think “I hate that guy, I’m going to kill him”. Maybe because he was sleeping with their wife. :)

    Also, with regards to “no other Gods before me”, remember that Egyptians, Greeks, Romans, and most other groups were worshipping a god of the sun, the moon, the water, wealth, health, and partying. God came in to say that isn’t the case, and there is only one true God. It was truly a radical idea when it was brought about, though I agree that the wording would have been better as “I am the only God”. Then again, who knows what the original Hebrew said, versus how it was translated later?

    And Grant and emaria got the “idols” one exactly right. It wasn’t so much “don’t make idols to worship me”, as “don’t worship other items before me”. As Grant said, he gave us free will, but he’s saying “I will be upset if you worship other items/things before me”. And an idol can be anything from money, to video games, to work, to pretty much anything you can and do put before God. Most sermons I’ve heard on this topic try to point out that we often worship thing we don’t even realize we are worshipping, like money and work. We put those things ahead of God (I mean, it IS the American way, right?!), and he’s saying that we need to be cognizant of that.

    I’m not trying to argue, and would be happy to talk about this more if you’d like. I’m like you, and I keep a very open mindset with regards to others’ opinions and mindsets. I find it very stimulating to talk about this stuff with people of differing thoughts, and ultimately feel that it makes my faith stronger for it. I look at it as it will either strengthen or weaken my faith, and that blind, unchallenged faith is the weakest of all.

  10. riggledo

    Interesting perspective. And I’m not saying I agree or disagree with you. My only comment would be to remember that the ten commandments weren’t written (by whomever they were written) for you and me. They were written for the Israelites thousands of years ago. I don’t know about you, but I can’t speak to the level of intellect or comprehension, or the behavior of the people at that time… Maybe the ten commandments were just as complex and specific as they needed to be for those people at that time…

    or maybe they’re all crap. I don’t know. ;)

  11. J.A.G.

    I wanted to let you know I have nominated your blog for Versatile Blogger, Please visit here: http://ayearwithhorses.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/touched/ to read why I chose you and to get the directions on what to do next.

    I hope this year is wonderfully blessed.
    - J.A.G.

  12. Like many have already said, I have to agree that the ten commandments were specifically for the Israelites. Jesus was definitely a revolutionary change, proclaiming that people didn’t have to try to live by Mosaic law anymore. Don’t forget the most important commandments: Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength, and love your neighbor as your self. That’s really what the 10 commandments boil down to, and those two commandments are still true for Christians. I admire your openness and willingness to pursue understanding of Christianity! Keep on pursuing. And maybe try asking God to help you find answers… it couldn’t hurt.

  13. I love this post, and agree with most of the comments – Jesus put an end to the Mosaic Law, which was written for the Israelites ages ago. But that’s not to say that the ten commandments are completely useless and irrelevant today. I believe they still reflect God’s character, which is unchanging. Also, idols (#3) do not refer to just golden calves or statues that people worship. It can be an obsession or anything really, that draws our attention away from God. He was and is a jealous God, and wants to be the ‘centre of our lives’, though I will say not for His gain but ours? Is that narcissism then?

  14. holycowimforty

    To use your words, I suppose I’m one of those who use the monicker of Agnostic although I was raised as a Catholic (and I liked the Catholic church, by the way. I also like the Jewish faith, and I love them Buddhists). I like your take on the Commandment No.3, and I’d like to add that I always feel that those images of Jesus Christ always looking white and handsome come to me as racist and stereotyped. But…that’s just my humble opinion, and I don’t mean to make anyone upset about it.
    Now, the thing is… yes, there were originally 10 commandments. However, once Jesus came on board, he stated that all those things could be summed up in two rules (you’ll have to forgive me here if I get lost in translation. I learned these things in Spanish): You’re going to love God above all things, and you’re to treat your neighbor as you treat yourself. I see these two rules as morality codes. These principles are across the board in most religions or cultures. I have no clue if it was God, Buddha, Allah, or Zeus the one who said them first. What I think is, at one point someone had to establish the playground rules. Great post! Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking my entry.

  15. The Talmid Rebbe

    I read your post and loved it. I read Grant’s post and loved it. Now, I’m stepping into the ring with a Jewish perspective. I’m reverting to the Jewish numbering for this one. If you don’t like it,well…..I AM KING, tough cookies. :)

    1. I am the LORD thy God, who brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. Thou shalt have no other gods before Me.

    The plain meaning of the pesuk (phrase) means as you have said, God says “I am God.” Now, what other gods exist in the world today? Money? Sex? Power? Certitude? What happens when people chase after them? Everyone gets hurt, and everyone is enslaved.

    The purpose of this commandment is to encourage appreciation for the ineffable, as Abraham Joshua Heschel puts it, and discourage the worship of bad ideas. It also affirms God’s oneness. God appears in Torah in multiple guises including: love, justice, compassion, mercy, the elements, father, and (hey feminists!) mother. If God is a God of infinite possibility, imposing limits on God reduces Her splendor.

    It also serves to remind us of something higher than ourselves. What this is, though, is an excellent question. As it is said, “And the LORD repented of the evil which He said He would do unto His people.” (Exodus 32.14)

    2. Thou shalt not make unto thee a graven image…thou shalt not bow down unto them, nor serve them.

    The previous commandment discourages the worship of bad ideas. This commandment discourages the worship of man-made things. So, I cannot say: my rock says I should kill you because your rock’s butt ugly and you smell.

    In other words, bowing in front of a rock and giving it my lunch money equals bad ju-ju….even if it is damn funny. Bowing to the rock and going Son of Sam on people…not so much. Is this serving the rock, or savage impulse?

    Man-made gods embody the ideas we give them. When this was written, children were sacrificed to fire…by their parents. Is this commandment redundant, or does the repetition teach that idolatry, in any form, is a really, really bad idea?

    God tired of sacrifice long, long ago.

    If we worship man-made things, does that mean we worship man?

    3. Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God in vain; for the LORD will not hold him guiltless that taketh His name in vain.

    Do not make false oaths in God’s name. Since we run the risk of not fulfilling every oath we make, don’t swear in God’s name at all. Why? To avoid an error.

    It’s our responsibility to fulfill our oaths, not God’s.

    Another interpretation: don’t make false oaths in YOUR name, or anyone else’s.

    4. Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.

    We spend six days a week creating, acquiring, building, and molding existence to suit our needs. Shouldn’t we take some time for ourselves?

    We should all take a break from chasing money.

    A vacation every week. It’s a beautiful thing.

    5. Honour thy father and thy mother, that thy days may be long upon the land which the LORD thy God giveth thee.

    How do we live long and happy lives on our land? By honoring our parents. What do our parents want for themselves and their children? Peace? How do you maintain peace? By honoring everybody.

    Thou shalt not take vengeance, nor bear any grudge against the children of thy people, but thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. (Leviticus 19.18)

    6. Thou shalt not murder.

    The plain meaning of the pesuk is as you’ve described. Consider this: slander is a form of murder.

    God tired of sacrifice long, long ago.

    7. Thou shalt not commit adultery.

    The Sages in the Talmud say that marriage was established in three ways: exchange of money, the signing of the contract, or sex. Sacred prostitution was all the rage in biblical times.

    Another interpretation: let’s borrow from the Catholic understanding of the married couple as a new life. How is this not murder?

    8. Thou shalt not steal.

    Not only don’t steal, but don’t think of stealing. Why do we think of stealing? To acquire what others have that we do not: money, power, things. More idols.

    9. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour.

    Don’t make false oaths in your own name, or anyone else’s. Honor everybody.

    10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife…nor any thing that is thy neighbour’s.

    Intention is everything. The Sages ask why the Torah demands fourfold or fivefold reparations are required for certain crimes of theft. Some interpret the the number of steps in the act into the reason. Conceiving the crime is step 1.

    ***

    I’ve done my best to display the interrelatedness of the utterances. Each is actually an elaboration on the first commandment. We went through all that trouble to be free; why subject ourselves to slavery again?

    You’ve probably noticed that seven of the commandments are negative. For kicks, a midrashic interpretation.

    Don’t covet your neighbor’s wife
    bearing false witness to have him put away
    so you can steal his money
    and his wife
    motivating you to murder him
    and make your parents feel shame
    because know no peace
    and have lied
    and chased idols
    and forgotten what is good in life

  16. Pingback: The Ten Commandments – hardly a moral code | Teenage Daydream

  17. Darin L. Jolliffe-Haas

    I think “the cross” is an interesting concept that can easily become confused as an article of worship. It is in the front of the church, much like many statues of Christ. The Catholic faith prays to The Blessed Virgin, and generally, there is a statue where many light candles, kneel, and pray. I can see where some might consider this an act of worship.

    Last year I attended a Christmas cantata at a large, well-known church in a Dayton, Ohio suburb. There was a guest pastor welcomed to the stage where his choir was participating. A large cross was brought forward, standing alone before the choirs. The guest pastor got on his knees, raised his arms, and began swaying, and bowing before the cross. My teenage sons were disturbed by this because it certainly appeared to be worshiping the cross. Those who attended the church (and who did not even know this guest pastor) were quick to defend that he was glorifying God…

    Honestly, I was uncomfortable with the pastor’s “choreography.” I am sure he was glorifying God, but I can see why it could easily be questioned to be geared otherwise.

  18. Pingback: On The Agnostic’s View of the Ten(Twelve) Commandments « The Talmid Rebbe

  19. I was born into a Christian family, and raised Christian. I still consider myself Christian but I have been expectedly criticized by other Christians, including my mother who is quite devote, as not being a “real Christian”! Here’s why:

    1. I no longer go to church regularly; haven’t for many years now (I’ve seen and heard enough lies and hypocrisy in many Christian churches–even of varying sects, to understand that the biggest problem with churches and religions is not the deity being worshipped, churches, mosques or other organized houses of worship or religions but the people who are established as leaders and congregates of those churches and religions).

    2. While I have great respect and admiration for the Holy Bible, I openly criticize it and people’s–including other Christian’s, interpretation of it’s verses; similar to what you’ve done above but without the agnisticism (many have insisted to me that it is either the literal word of God or is written by people who have been “divinly inspired” by God and; therefore ought not to be challenged in any way, to which I argue that many people including tru-believing and dangerous cult leaders have brought too much pain and suffering to others under the notion of “divine inspiration”–as much as the Bible is a well written code, people often fail miserably to interpret it).

    I find No. 2 to be the most controversial of my viewpoints. Many, not all, Christians have reacted extremely hostile toward me when I make that argument, and shake off the limitations of being that they try so hard to load on me.

    I still consider myself Christian because I still align myself with much of the Christian faith, as expressed from the Bible. The core of my faith; however, is not about pronciples, and traditions of the Christian religion. It’s based on my belief in God, and my need and want to allow God to direct my life; even as secular as it can be at times, and to protect my soul.

    I don’t know what else to say about it. I hope I did okay in explaining myself.

  20. Clever and thought-provoking. Always something that is going to get some heavy reaction. My blog below is just about the history and philosophy, but the book I start off with is one that many of the people here might find interesting.

    http://sillzja.wordpress.com/2012/01/21/histories-of/

  21. I really like your take on the commandmants and agree that a lot of the concepts have been around longer than Christanity. Other cultures have very similar ‘rules’. I think the commandmant about adultery is to make sure we know who our parents are and that we don’t breed with our siblings. Possibly for the reason that genetic diseases are more likely with interbreeding. It makes sense when you consider that many children didn’t live past infancy, in even relatively recent times, and those that did needed to be as healthy and strong as possible to keep breeding. The Australian Aboriginal tribes had a very complex system of “skin” which dictated which groups they could marry into and which they had to avoid. It was to ensure that the genetic pool was a big as possible with little chance of genetic disability.

  22. I dunno Rob. I think that people get a little lost at times with regards to who God is. God stands for good. Devil stands for evil. The Commandments tell us to embrace good and resist evil. That’s pretty simple. Why nitpick about it?

    At MosaicHouseCo we like the story about the Samaritan in Luke 10, the do unto others bit .. If we’d all follow the Commandments and act like the Samaritan we’d live in paradise.

  23. Amy Pirt

    Another really interesting post. Good to look at it from a scientific point of view.

  24. Interesting. To really understand the Commnadments, you have to understand what was going on when the were written. More importantly, to understand why God wants us to worship Him and only Him is more about us needg him than him needing us. Does He desire and long for communication? Yes, as any loving father does.

    We are lile trees hidden underground that need light to grow and sprout to produce fresh fruit. Sometimes a seed/plant/flower is so desperate for the sun from being in the darkness so long, they stretch, reach and breaks through barriers to get a tiny tatste o the sun. Many plats can grow through concrete. Once they break through, they grow tward the light. As the light shines on it, it will spout fruit. But if it in the shade, it will either produce no fruit or fruit that will not mature or will spoil. Worship is like squeezing toward the light.

    The commandments about infidelity is due to the result of acting on lustful desires. It typically produces children out of wedlock, absentee fathers, single mothers, STD’s, heartbreak, strongholds and guilt and shame. The better question is, “What GREET thing does it bring other than sexual satisfaction. Lust is operating out of love.

    Lust is selfish, love is selfish
    Lust is self-oriented, love is other oriented
    Lust is taking, love is giving

    Sin is our S-elf I-ndulging -Nature. It always thinkgs of its own desires, not thinking of the ripple effect it creates. Sin is the root to humanities woes. It’s not because God want to with hold, it’s that he wants to protect.

    Great post!

Please let us know what you think!

